New York State

The places we have researched

Lots and Lots of details rolling back out soon!

Defunct New York State Counties

Charlotte Co. [1772-1784]: Partitioned, renamed Washington Co.
Cornwall Co. [1665-1686]: Transferred to Massachusetts, later became Maine; 1 of 12 original counties in NY colony.
Cumberland Co. [1766-1777]: Transferred to Vermont.
Dukes Co. [1683-1692]: Transferred to Massachusetts; 1 of 12 original counties in New York colony.
Gloucester Co. [1770-1777]: Transferred to Vermont
Mexico Co. [1792-1796]: Never settled, reallocated to other counties, including Oswego.
Tryon Co. [1772-1784]: Renamed Montgomery Co.


©2020 Kelly Miller. This site & all contents, including but not limited to images & text, are licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 US License.